Come visit with us year round
By Emma Palova
Fallasburg, MI-Here are some facts about the Fallasburg Covered Bridge. The bridge is located in Kent County in Michigan, approximately five miles north of Lowell.
The original bridge was built in 1871 across the Flat River. Much like its sister bridges it fell victim to high water and spring ice jams. Jared Bressee of Ada was contracted to build the present structure at a cost of $1,500.
It stretches 100 feet long and stands 14 feet wide and 12 feet high. Its lattice-work trusses were made of white pine from Greenville.
The use of the brown truss in this bridge as well as the one in Ada is unique to the area. The roof and the sides protect the timbers from rotting. The current roof is covered with cedar shake shingles.
The bridge was extensively repaired in 1945 and in 1994 with conscientious attention to detail. As such, the bridge has retained its historic integrity. The Fallasburg Bridge is only one of two bridges in Michigan open to vehicle traffic. Its sister Whites Bridge in Smyrna was destroyed by arson fire in 2013. Efforts are under way to rebuild it.
Signs on each side of the bridge warn of a $5 fine for riding or driving faster than a walk.
The Fallasburg Covered Bridge was listed with the Michigan State Register on February 12, 1959. It was awarded a Michigan Historical Marker on September 10, 1971 and it was listed with the National Register on March 16, 1972.
The idyllic setting of the bridge makes it the perfect spot for photographers and newlyweds.
Annually, the bridge serves as a rendezvous for the Fallasburg Covered Bridge bike tour in July. The tour is the biggest fundraiser for the Fallasburg Historical Society (FHS). Register today to help us preserve history for future generations.
The Fallasburg Covered Bridge in December of 2015.
For more info visit http://www.fallasburg.org
Copyright (c) 2016 Emma Blogs, LLC. All rights reserved.